Coconut Oil – Nature’s Perfect Moisturizer

Coconut Oil—Nature’s Perfect Moisturizer


Enjoy the Article:

For all its internal health benefits, pure coconut oil is also a wonderful all-natural age defying moisturizer when applied topically. When absorbed into your skin and connective tissues, coconut oil may help reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles by helping to keep your connective tissues strong and supple. It might also help exfoliate the outer layer of dead skin cells, encouraging smoother skin.

Physiologist and biochemist Ray Peat, Ph.D. considers coconut oil an antioxidant, due to its stability and resistance to oxidation and free radical formation. Besides that, coconut oil also has potent antimicrobial activity. (About 50 percent of the fat in coconut oil is lauric acid that your body converts into monolaurin, which has anti-viral, anti-bacterial and anti-protozoa properties. Capric acid, another coconut fatty acid present in smaller amounts, also has antimicrobial activity.)

All of these features make it a good choice for skin applications. Coconut oil is perhaps one of the most useful ingredients you can keep in your house. Other articles lists a wide range of creative uses for this household staple, including DIY coconut oil skin care recipes. For example, you can use it as a base for body scrubs, homemade deodorant, toothpaste, hand and body cream, lip balm… and, even bug repellent.

Check out these related articles:

  • Coconut Oil for Acne – Raven’s Journey (2 videos): http://dirtyorganics.com/coconut-oil-for-acne-ravens-journey
  • Coconut Oil for Cracked Heels: http://dirtyorganics.com/coconut-oil-for-cracked-heels
  • Coconut Oil for Skin & Nails: http://dirtyorganics.com/coconut-oil-for-skin-and-nails
  • Coconut Oil Toothpaste Recipe: http://dirtyorganics.com/coconut-oil-toothpaste-recipe
  • DIY – Coconut Oil & Honey Deep Conditioner (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-coconut-oil-honey-deep-conditioner
  • DIY – Coconut Oil & Lavender Body Scrub (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-coconut-oil-lavender-body-scrub
  • DIY – Coconut Oil & Walnut Foot Scrub (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-coconut-oil-and-walnut-foot-scrub
  • DIY – Complete Nutrition Deep Conditioning Hair Mask (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-complete-nutrition-deep-conditioning-hair-mask
  • DIY – Eczema Cream with Coconut Oil (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-eczema-cream-with-coconut-oil
  • DIY – Homemade Lip Stain with Coconut Oil (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-homemade-lip-stain-with-coconut-oil
  • DIY – Lip Balm Recipe with Coconut Oil and Jello (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-lip-balm-recipe-with-coconut-oil-and-jello
  • DIY – Make Natural Coconut Oil Deodorant (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-make-natural-coconut-oil-deodorant
  • DIY – Mini Lotion Bars with Coconut Oil (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-mini-lotion-bars-with-coconut-oil
  • DIY – Whipped Coconut Oil Cream for Skin & Hair (a video): http://dirtyorganics.com/diy-whipped-coconut-oil-cream-for-skin-hair

  • Article source: http://articles.mercola.com. Originally published at http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2013/11/11/coconut-oil-for-skin.aspx and appeared there on October 13, 2014.

    Please note that while this site offers information, it should not be taken as medical advice.

    Please consult a trusted medical professional before using the information on this site.

    Results should be expected to vary from individual to individual. Also, please understand that you may still need to do other things to support your health in addition to using the information on this site as the information on this site is not intended for diagnosis, treatment, prevention or cure.


    Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
    Posted in Beauty, Health + Nutrition
    by Date
    • Pintrest

      Follow Me on Pinterest